Dark Academia Vibes 10 Books Similar to ‘The Ritual’ by Shantel Tessier

Books Like The Ritual by Shantel Tessier

Disclosure: We are part of the Amazon Affiliate/LTK Creator programs. We will receive a small commission at no cost if you purchase a book. This post may contain links to purchase books & you can read our affiliate disclosure here.

Welcome to a thrilling journey into the world of dark academia and secret societies, where power, passion, and danger collide. If you’re a fan of Shantel Tessier’s intense and alluring novel, “The Ritual,” then you’re in for a treat. In this blog post, we’ve curated a list of 10 captivating books that will satisfy your craving for dark romance and intrigue. 

“The Ritual” transports readers into the shadowy realm of a college secret society, where powerful men double as dangerous killers. It’s a tale brimming with suspense, romance, and a touch of the forbidden, but be forewarned – this book comes with its fair share of trigger warnings and a generous serving of darkness and spice.

So, if you’re ready to delve deeper into the world of clandestine societies, twisted romances, and hidden secrets, join us as we unveil a collection of books that will keep you hooked from the very first page. Prepare to lose yourself in the enigmatic allure of these dark academia novels and dark romances that will leave you breathless.

About The Ritual by Shantel Tessier

The Ritual by Shantel Tessier

This book is available on Kindle Unlimited

Prepare to enter the world of secrets, power, and survival in ‘The Ritual’ by Shantel Tessier.

Barrington University is the epicenter of the Lords, a clandestine society that thrives on blood as payment for their power. They are the most formidable, relentless men in the world, devoting their lives to violence. In their senior year, they seek the chosen one, someone special.

Growing up with wealth may seem liberating, but it’s far from it. A life planned out meticulously is not freedom. My destiny was set until Ryat Alexander Archer came into my life, offering a chance at something better, true freedom. I chose to be his, believing his promises, but it was all a lie, a ploy by the Lords to control me.

As I delved deeper into the dark and twisted world of the Lords, I embraced my new role and allowed Ryat to use me as a trophy. But what began as a game soon became a fight for my life, and the only way out seemed to be through death.

‘The Ritual’ promises a gripping journey through manipulation, deceit, and the struggle to break free from a sinister society.

Why should you read The Ritual? 

If you are in the mood for a dark, “touch her, or you will die” romance, then The Ritual is for you. This is an intense, dark romance that will leave you at the edge of your seat reading. 

The story starts when Blake is chosen for Ryat. Instead of reaching out, he starts to stalk her. They go through intense encounters as Blakes gets attached to Ryat. Overall, this book is about the journey between Blake and Ryat and how Ryat unravels himself from The Lords.

Make sure to check The Ritual’s trigger warnings here.


BOOKS LIKE THE RITUAL BY SHANTEL TESSIER

Bad Omen by Alex King

Bad Omen by Alex King

This book is available on Kindle Unlimited

Prequel Novella to Bad Heir by Alex King 

Prepare for a thrilling tale of twins, rivalry, and a dangerous game in ‘Bad Omen’ by Alex King. 

Meet Cassius and Ambrose, twins with too much privilege and a whole lot of attitude. They didn’t realize they were bound by a blood oath until it was too late to back out. Cassius, the firstborn, was thrust onto a corrupt throne, while Ambrose grew up as the spare, believing himself to be a bad omen and Cassius a lucky charm. But luck couldn’t fix Cassius, who carried deep scars, both inside and out.

Ambrose’s hatred for Cassius ran deep, and he made sure to make Cassius’s life a living hell, even going as far as taking Clover West away from him. But Cassius was determined to turn the tables and make Ambrose’s reality a nightmare for stealing his queen. 

‘Bad Omen’ is a riveting story of family, rivalry, and revenge that will keep you on the edge of your seat


Ninth House by Leigh Bardugo

Ninth House by Leigh Bardugo

Meet Galaxy “Alex” Stern, an unlikely Yale freshman with a turbulent past. Raised in the outskirts of Los Angeles by a free-spirited mom, she dropped out of school early, delving into a world of sketchy drug dealers, dead-end jobs, and even darker experiences. By the age of twenty, she’s the lone survivor of a gruesome, unsolved multiple murder. It might seem like she’s thrown her life away, but her fate takes a dramatic turn at her hospital bed.

Alex is offered a second chance, a full-ride scholarship to Yale, one of the world’s most prestigious universities. But there’s a catch, and she’s left wondering why she’s the chosen one. As she steps into New Haven, her mysterious benefactors assign her a unique task – monitoring Yale’s secret societies. These eight hidden “tombs” are the playgrounds of the wealthy and powerful, including politicians and Wall Street giants. However, their activities go far beyond what any conspiracy theory could imagine.

Within these secret societies, they dabble in forbidden magic, attempt to raise the dead, and, at times, prey on the living. ‘Ninth House’ by Leigh Bardugo delves into a world of intrigue, secrets, and supernatural mysteries that will keep you hooked from beginning to end.


Twisted Circles by Claire Contreras

Twisted Circles by Claire Contreras

This book is available on Kindle Unlimited

Get ready for a mysterious and sexy ride in Claire Contreras’ standalone college romantic suspense, ‘Twisted Circles.’

Imagine waking up in a mental institution with no memory of who you are or how you got there. That’s the perplexing situation our protagonist finds themselves in. No name, no recollection of events, and no idea about their past. The only clues lie in a wallet, a student ID, an unfamiliar key, and two enigmatic notebooks.

As the cops try to piece together their story, the name on the ID matches their identity, but the memories remain elusive. The reason the authorities picked them up? They were mistaken for their sister. But here’s the twist – they can’t remember having a sister.

Things take an even more puzzling turn when they’re dropped off in front of a mansion called The Manor, and the mysterious key from their backpack opens its front door. What secrets lie within The Manor, and will unlocking that door reveal the truth or unleash more mysteries?

‘Twisted Circles’ is a 100% standalone novel set in the captivating world of Half Truths, promising a thrilling journey of suspense, secrets, and romance.


Try Kindle Unlimited

Unlimited Reading, Unlimited Listening, Any Device

Unlimited, guilt-free reading, all for one low monthly price. Try out new authors, read some of your favorites, and never exceed your book-buying budget!

As an Amazon affiliate, I will get a small commission if you sign up for the service.

Rival by Ketley Allison

Rival by Ketley Allison

This book is available on Kindle Unlimited

Get ready for the intriguing world of high society and secrets in ‘Rival’ by Kelley Allison.

Meet the Nobles, an elite group with a hidden agenda and their breeding ground, Briarcliff U. They prefer to operate in the shadows, and their messes? Well, they’re rarely tidy and hardly ever see the light of day. Money is no object, and finding members is usually a breeze, until one of their own decides to turn against them.

Initiates, take note: loyalty always trumps love in their world. And for Callie Ryan, the newest student at Briarcliff, things take an unexpected turn. She’s faced with a choice: bend, obey, and give in to the blood oath or face the consequences.

As the new girl, Callie’s in for quite a ride in this thrilling tale of power, betrayal, and dark secrets.


Delicate Revenge by Stasia Black and Alta Hensley

Delicate Revenge by Stasia Black and Alta Hensley

This book is available on Kindle Unlimited

Step into the world of secrets, revenge, and unexpected twists in ‘Delicate Revenge’ by Stasia Black and Alta Hensley.

Meet Bellamy Carmichael, the princess of Darlington during high school – stunning, popular, and fully aware of her allure. For years, I had a crush on her, but she never spared me more than a cruel comment or two. I was the scrawny, nerdy kid with a new money background.

Fast forward a decade, and the roles have reversed. Now, I’m the one being courted by the Elders of the Secret Society. My family’s wealth has skyrocketed into the hundreds of billions, giving me unprecedented privileges during my Initiation.

But here’s where it gets interesting – Bellamy Carmichael finds herself as a Belle of the Midnight Ball. The mighty have fallen indeed. Unlike my brothers, I plan to savor my initiation and relish the opportunity to break my belle. Revenge takes center stage in this captivating story of power dynamics and transformation.


Mischief Night by Delaney Foster

Mischief Night by Delaney Foster

This book is available on Kindle Unlimited

Dive into the world of forbidden love, power, and sacrifice in ‘Mischief Night’ by Delaney Foster.

In this thrilling tale, the Brotherhood is not your average group. There’s only one way in and one way out, and it leads to death. Power is their creed, a code they live by, almost like a religion. Men are willing to fight, die, and kill for it. Sacrifice is a part of their everyday life, involving family, freedom, and even their very souls. Everything they have comes at a price.

But then comes love, the grand illusion. Our protagonist makes a grave mistake by falling for the enemy, someone too good for their brutal world. The desire to set free the monster within grows stronger when they’re near her.

She’s untainted, flawless, and a beacon of light. And yet, he can’t resist the temptation to desecrate her, to ruin her, and to drag her into the darkness. She’s forbidden, but he takes her anyway, crossing a line that ignites a war between their families. Both clans thirst for blood, and the question remains – who will bleed first?

‘Mischief Night’ is the first book in a series, offering a standalone read with interconnected storylines that promise an unforgettable journey without any cliffhangers.


Lords of Pain by Angel Lawson and Samantha Rue

Lords of Pain by Angel Lawson and Samantha Rue

This book is available on Kindle Unlimited

Get ready for a dark and thrilling ride in ‘Lords of Pain’ by Angel Lawson and Samantha Rue.

Meet Killian, Tristian, and Rath—three men from the past that our protagonist would rather forget. In high school, they all shared secrets, but they held the power while she had nothing. One fateful night, everything unraveled when her stepbrother allowed his two best friends to inflict unspeakable pain on her while they laughed.

However, what happened that night wasn’t her darkest secret. She fled, vowing never to return. Three years later, circumstances force her back to their doorstep. The men, now Lords at Forsyth University, are more powerful than ever. But she’s still on the run, haunted by another menacing presence.

What brings her back into their lives, their homes, and their beds? Fear, shame, desperation. But her return attracts not only the three men but also a more sinister stalker from her past.

Becoming their Lady isn’t just about appearances; it’s a complex web of power dynamics and control. This book contains dark and bully romance elements, including graphic content that some readers may find sensitive. Please take note of the warning at the beginning of the book if you have triggers or uncertainties.

The Royals of Forsyth University Part 1:


Big Ben by Nana Malone

Big Ben by Nana Malone

Get ready for a story of secrets, stolen moments, and revenge in ‘Big Ben’ by Nana Malone.

It all started with a stolen almost-kiss, an unexpected twist of fate. She was never meant to enter my world, never meant to uncover the oaths I’ve sworn or the hidden truths I guard.

But like a shadowy thief, she took my heart and disappeared, even though she was never truly mine to claim.

As a member of the billionaire Elite, I live by a few simple rules. First and foremost, I’m a gentleman. Loyalty is my guiding principle, secrets stay hidden, and power is the ultimate currency.

My supposed brothers committed an unspeakable act, and I’m out for vengeance. I’ll stop at nothing to make them pay, even if it means bending every moral, ethical, and legal code in the process. I’ll borrow, steal, and do whatever it takes to balance the scales. But one thing you can be sure of – there’ll be no begging, unless she asks very, very nicely.

I am Ben Covington, and I carry the weight of my sins on my shoulders.

The rest of the books in the trilogy;


The Initiation by Nikki Sloane

The Initiation by Nikki Sloane

Enter the intriguing world of secrets and desire in ‘The Initiation’ by Nikki Sloane.

At Hale Banking and Holding, the selection process for new members to the board is shrouded in mystery. Whispers abound about a sinister initiation rite, where one woman and nine men vanish into a clandestine boardroom. This time, that woman will be me.

The Hale family’s influence knows no bounds—they own everything, from the world’s eighth-largest bank to everyone in our town, even the mortgage on my parents’ grand mansion. Now, Royce Hale, the charismatic, seductive, and ruthless scion of the family, wants to possess me.

Under his penetrating gaze, my body may ignite with desire, but I refuse to succumb to it. I’m willing to make a deal with the devil, selling myself to the Hales to save my family. But one thing’s for sure—Royce will never own my heart. ‘The Initiation’ promises a thrilling journey of power, temptation, and a battle for independence.

The rest of the books in the Filthy Rich Americans trilogy: 


Similar Posts