10 Authors Like Colleen Hoover (Angsty Reads)

exc-6313793f314fb97f83d24e29

Disclosure: We are part of the Amazon Affiliate program. If you purchase a book, we will receive a small commission at no cost to you. This post may contain links to purchase books & you can read our affiliate disclosure here.

Colleen Hoover writes angsty, emotional love stories, unlike any romance books you have read. Her books deal with an assortment of trigger warnings that may include cheating, domestic violence, 

We got you if you have tackled Colleen’s backlist and are unsure what to read next. Here are ten authors whose backlist titles resembled Colleen Hoover’s writing, and they will tide you over until the next release.  


30 Books to Read if Love Colleen Hoover (Read-A-Like)

Mia Sheridan

Mia Sheridan is a New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal Bestselling author. Her passion is weaving true love stories about people destined to be together. Her books are emotional rollercoasters. 

 

Here are two books that you must add to your TBR:

Archer’s Voice by Mia Sheridan



This book is described as a love story between two tortured souls that unexpectedly find happiness; this is an emotional and angsty romance that will rip your heart out and put it back together in the end.

Most of All of You by Mia Sheridan

This book is described a broken woman and a man that need help to come together. Their past has shattered them, and as they connect, their face will make them question can they shed their past and fall in love.


Tarryn Fisher

Tarryn Fisher is a New York Times & USA Today bestselling author. Tarryn writes about villains. Tarryn has co-written a series with Colleen Hoover that you must add to your TBR. 

  

Here are four of Tarryn Fisher’s books that you must add to your TBR: 

Never Never by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher



Never Never: The complete series
By Hoover, Colleen, Fisher, Tarryn



Buy on Amazon

The complete series is available on Kindle Unlimited. Silas are childhood best friends who simultaneously lose their memory and must come together to recapture what happened.  This book features an emotional history of the characters who must overcome those challenges.

Mud Vein by Tarryn Fisher



Mud Vein
By Tarryn Fisher



Buy on Amazon

Sienna is kidnapped, and she doesn’t know why. In this novel, she must uncover her past to find her freedom.

F*ck Love by Tarryn Fisher



F*ck Love
By Fisher, Tarryn



Buy on Amazon

Helena found her dream husband, who happened to be her best friend’s boyfriend. This story is told from the POV of Helena, and it is addictive. You can’t stop reading.

The Wives by Tarryn Fisher



What if you live in an arrangement where your husband has three wives? You don’t know each other, but you connect with one wife. The one wife appears to be in an abusive relationship with her husband, your husband. A husband that has shown no signs of violence? This is a nail-biting thriller full of twists. This book is perfect for fans of Verity.

Early Taylor Jenkins Reid Writing

Taylor Jenkins Reid is the New York Times bestselling author of Daisy Jones & The Six and The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, One True Love, Maybe in Another Life, After I Do, and Forever, Interrupted. Taylor’s early work reminds Colleen Hoover’s work, where she explores relationships that include marriage. 

Here are three of Taylor Jenkins Reid’s books that you must add to your TBR:

One True Love by Taylor Jenkins Reid



One True Loves: A Novel
By Reid, Taylor Jenkins



Buy on Amazon

This novel is described as a “breathtaking new love story about a woman unexpectedly forced to choose between the husband she long thought dead and the fiancé who has finally brought her back to life.” As you read the novel, you will continue to guess who she picks in the end.

Forever Interrupted by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Elsie Porter has a whirlwind romance with Ben, They eloped, and nine days later, Ben dies in a freak accident. Elsie connects with her mother-in-law, who has no idea of Elsie’s existence. This novel intertwines Ben and Elsie’s romance and the healing between Elsie and her mother-in-law.

After I Do by Taylor Jenkins Reid



After I Do: A Novel
By Reid, Taylor Jenkins



Buy on Amazon

This married couple decides to take a break for a year. No contact; anything goes. This story follows them through the year to see if they can come back together and rekindle their love.


Beth O’Leary

Beth O’Leary is a Sunday Times bestselling author whose books have been translated into more than 30 languages. Her debut novel, The Flatshare, was a runaway hit.  

Here is one Beth O’Leary book that you must add to your TBR:

The No Show by Beth O’Leary



The No-Show
By O’Leary, Beth



Buy on Amazon

This book starts off with three different women being stood up on Valentine. Throughout the story, we connect with each woman and discover their relationship with the same man. This book has a significant twist. Just be aware that nothing is like it seems.


Penelope Douglas

Penelope Douglas is a New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestselling author. Penelope writes taboo, angsty, spicy romance. Some of her popular titles are Credence, Punk 57, and the Corrupt series. 

Here is one Penelope Douglas book that you must add to your TBR:

Punk 57 by Penelope Douglas



Punk 57
By Douglas, Penelope



Buy on Amazon

Former penpals reconnect in this angsty new adult novel. This book tells the story of why Misha stopped writing to Ryen. How they discovered their true self. This book is ANGSTY and EMOTIONAL.


Jill Santopolo

Jill Santopolo is the internationally best-selling author of More Than Words, The Light We Lost, which was a Reese Witherspoon Book Club pick, and the forthcoming Everything After. 

Here is one of Jill Santopolo’s books that you must add to your TBR:

The Light We Lost by Jill Santopolo



The Light We Lost
By Santopolo, Jill



Buy on Amazon

This devastating love story between two star-crossed lovers expands over a few decades. This is an emotional read where you will root for the couple to get their happily ever after.


Jewel E Ann

Jewel is a Wall Street Journal & USA Today best-selling author with a quirky sense of humor.  Jewel writes in multiple romance sub-genre.

Here are two of Jewel E. Ann’s books that you must add to your TBR:

The Naked Fisherman by Jewel E. Ann and The Lost Fisherman by Jewel E. Ann

This age gap duet connect shares the complicated relationship between Fisher and Reese. They are enemies to lovers, once upon a time boss/employee and landlord/tenant. This is a compulsive read that you won’t stop reading until the very last page.


K.A. Tucker 

K.A. Tucker writes captivating stories with an edge. She is the internationally bestselling author of the Ten Tiny Breaths and Burying Water series; He Will Be My Ruin, Until It Fades, Keep Her Safe, The Simple Wild, Be the Girl, and Say You Still Love Me. 

Here are nine of K.A. Tucker’s books that you must add to your TBR:

The Simple Wild by K.A. Tucker

City girl Calla goes to Alaska to reconnect with her dad. However a chance encounter, she connects with a grumpy pilot who wants nothing from her. This is an epic romance set in Alaska. The best part is that this is now a three-book series with a spinoff novel.

Other books in this series:

Ten Tiny Breaths by K.A. Tucker

After a terrible car accident, Kacey and her sister move to Florida. She is guarded until she meets her neighbor Trent. This book is angsty and a quintessential new adult novel that you must read.

There are four more books in this world, and they are:


Krista & Becca Ritchie 

Krista & Becca Ritchie are New York Times and the USA Today bestselling authors and identical twins–one a science nerd, the other a comic book geek–. Still, their shared passion for writing combined their mental powers as kids and never stopped telling stories. 

Here are six Krista & Becca Ritchie books that you must add to your TBR:

Addicted to You by Krista & Becca Ritchie



Addicted to You (ADDICTED SERIES)
By Ritchie, Krista, Ritchie, Becca



Buy on Amazon

She is addicted to sex, and he is addicted to booze. They fake a relationship to enable their addictions however, as they sober up, they realize they are falling in love. This is an epic, angsty love story you will want to experience in all six books. 

The Addicted series is a five-book series with a bonus epic epilogue. Here are the books in the series: 


Jennifer Lee

Book hoarder. Coffee Addict. Romance Writer. Jennifer Lee has dreamt of publishing her first book since she was a young girl, and now, she’s finally making that dream come true. When she’s not hiding in her writing cave, she loves spending time with her college sweetheart-turned-husband, her two amazing kids, and her rescue pup.

Jennifer Lee is a newcomer author who knows how to write emotionally charged stories. 

Here is one of Jennifer Lee’s books that you must add to your TBR:

Now This Is Us by Jennifer Lee



Now This Is Us
By Lee, Jennifer



Buy on Amazon

This is the story of former high school best friends who are now enemies with an undeniable attraction to one another. It is an emotional epic rollercoaster that is full of the ANGST. 


I want to hear from you; what is your favorite Colleen Hoover novel? What do you love most about her novels? Is it the unexpected twists or the emotional rollercoaster she puts us through in each book?

Similar Posts