|

10 Books Like Wildfire by Hannah Grace (Summer Camp Romances)

Books Like Wildfire by Hannah Grace (Summer Camp Romances)

Disclosure: We are part of the Amazon Affiliate/LTK Creator programs. We will receive a small commission at no cost if you purchase a book. This post may contain links to purchase books & you can read our affiliate disclosure here.

Now that you have read Icebreaker, you may be curious about the sequel Wildfire?

Wildfire is a summer camp romance between Russ (hockey player from Icebreaker) and Aurora, a fellow Maple Hills student who used to date basketball players. Wildfire is mostly set in a summer camp so we do not get any hockey scenes. However, we do have plenty of cameos from the Maple Hills Hockey group.

In this blog post, we are answering all of your FAQs about Wildfire and sharing with you what to read next with a list full of summer camp books to pick up next.

About Wildfire by Hannah Grace

Maple Hills students Russ Callaghan and Aurora Roberts cross paths at a party celebrating the end of the academic year, where a drinking game results in them having a passionate one-night stand. Never one to overstay her welcome (or expect much from a man), Aurora slips away before Russ even has the chance to ask for her full name.

Imagine their surprise when they bump into each other on the first day of the summer camp where they are both counselors, hoping to escape their complicated home lives by spending the summer working. Russ hopes if he gets far enough away from Maple Hills, he can avoid dealing with the repercussions of his father’s gambling addiction, while Aurora is tired of craving attention from everyone around her, and wants to go back to the last place she truly felt at home.

Russ knows breaking the camp’s strict “no staff fraternizing” rule will have him heading back to Maple Hills before the summer is over, but unfortunately for him, Aurora has never been very good at caring about the rules. Will the two learn to peacefully coexist? Or did their one night together start a fire they can’t put out?

Why should you read this Wildfire?

If you love couples with insane chemistry and attraction but they are emotionally stunted on how to act on then Wildfire is for you. Both Aurora and Russ have traumatic childhoods that left them hesitant to act on romance.

Aurora and Russ meet on their “last night before the summer starts” party. They have what they think is a one night stand where Aurora leaves in the middle of the night. The next day they see each other at the summer camp they will be working on. Russ has some hard feelings as to why Aurora leaves him and ignores her. As the summer progresses, we see their love story evolve.

Wildfire Frequently Asked Questions:

Is Wildfire a stand-alone novel or do I need to read Icebreaker?

Wildfire is a standalone novel however characters from Icebreaker do make a cameo throughout the story.

If I read Icebreaker, do we get Stasi and Nate’s characters cameos?

Yes, Stasi and Nate are friends with Russ. We see them at the beginning of the book in a party scene. Throughout the book, we hear from the Maple Hills Hockey friend group through a series of text conversations.

What is the spice level of Wildfire?

This book is spicy. We do get multiple of sex scenes.

Where are the spicy scenes?

Chapters 5, 21-22, 28-29, 33 all contain spicy scenes..

If you love Icebreaker by Hannah Grace, then check out our Figure Skating Romance Recommendations if you are looking what to read next. 

10 BOOKS LIKE WILDFIRE BY HANNAH GRACE (Summer Camp Romances)

The list of books mentioned below are a mix of YA and Adult Romances that are set in camps.

That Summer Feeling by Bridget Morrissey



That Summer Feeling
By Bridget Morrissey



Buy on Amazon

When a divorced woman attends a sleepaway camp for adults, she reconnects with a man from her past—only to fall head over heels for his sister instead.

Garland Moore used to believe in magic, the power of optimism, and signs from the universe. Then her husband surprised her with divorce papers over Valentine’s Day dinner. Now Garland isn’t sure what to believe anymore, except that she’s clearly never meant to love again. When new friends invite her to spend a week at their reopened sleepaway camp, she and her sister decide it’s an opportunity to enjoy the kind of summer getaway they never had as kids. If Garland still believed in signs, this would sure seem like one. Summer camp is a chance to let go of her past and start fresh.

Nestled into the picturesque Blue Ridge Mountains, Camp Carl Cove provides the exact escape Garland always dreamed of, until she runs into Mason—the man she had a premonition about after one brief meeting years ago. No matter how she tries to run, the universe appears determined to bring love back into Garland’s life. She even ends up rooming with Mason’s sister Stevie, a vibrant former park ranger who is as charming as she is competitive. The more time Garland spends with Stevie, the more the signs confuse her. The stars are aligning in a way Garland never could have predicted.

Amid camp tournaments and moonlit dances, Garland continues to be pulled toward the beautiful blonde outdoorswoman who makes her laugh and swoon. Summer camp doesn’t last forever, but if Garland can learn to trust her heart, the love she finds there just might.

Age Group: Adult

Read if you want: To go back to camp as an adult and have a summer romance.

In this sapphic romance, a recent divorcee attends a summer camp for adults and has a bi-awakening as she reconnects with a man from her past only to fall for his sister.

 


Then. Katee Rose is living the dream as America’s number one pop star, caught in a whirlwind of sold-out concerts, screaming fans, and constant tabloid coverage. Everyone wants to know everything about her and her boyfriend, Ryan LaNeve, the hottest member of adored boy band CrushZone. Katee loves to perform but hates the impossible demands of stardom. Maybe that’s why she finds herself in the arms of another CrushZone member, Cal Kirby. Quiet, serious Cal, who’s always been a good friend to Katee, is suddenly Cal with the smoldering eyes and very good hands. One unforgettable night is all it takes to blow up Katee’s relationship with Ryan, her career, her whole life. 

Now. Kathleen Rosenberg is okay with her ordinary existence and leaving her pop star image in the past. That is, until Cal Kirby shows up with the opportunity of her dreams—a starring role in the Broadway show he’s directing and a chance to perform, the way she’s always wanted. The two haven’t spoken since the joint destruction of their careers, and each of them blames the other, making their reunion a tense battle of wits and egos. Kathleen reluctantly agrees to the musical, as long as she keeps her guard up around Cal. But rehearsals are long, those eyes still smolder, and those hands are still very good. Despite everything, Kathleen can’t deny the chemistry between them. Is it ever a good idea to reignite old flames? Especially if you’ve been burned in the past?

Age Group: Adult

Read If You Want;  Imagine is Britney and JC Chasez met at Theater Camp before their breakthrough as an excellent boy bander and pop princess.  This book offers a dual timeline from PAST and Present.. It is a love letter to Musical Theater and all things Broadway.


Life is a mixed bag for Piper Calloway.

On the one hand, she’s a twenty-nine-year-old VP at her dad’s multibillion-dollar real estate development firm, and living the high single life with her two best friends in a swanky downtown penthouse. On the other hand, she’s considered a pair of sexy legs in a male-dominated world and constantly has to prove her worth. Plus she’s stuck seeing her narcissistic ex-fiancé—a fellow VP—on the other side of her glass office wall every day.

Things get exponentially more complicated for Piper when she runs into Kyle Miller—the handsome new security guard at Calloway Group, and coincidentally the first love of her life.

The guy she hasn’t seen or heard from since they were summer camp counselors together. The guy from the wrong side of the tracks. The guy who apparently doesn’t even remember her name.

Piper may be a high-powered businesswoman now, but she soon realizes that her schoolgirl crush is still alive and strong, and crippling her concentration. What’s more, despite Kyle’s distant attitude, she’s convinced their reunion isn’t at all coincidental, and that his feelings for her still run deep. And she’s determined to make him admit to them, no matter the consequences.

Age Group: Adult

Read If You Want: Star-crossed lovers, second chance romance. This book has all of the feels and is the perfect beach read.

 



Him
By Kennedy, Elle, Bowen, Sarina



Buy on Amazon

They don’t play for the same team. Or do they?

Jamie Canning has never been able to figure out how he lost his closest friend. Four years ago, his tattooed, wise-cracking, rule-breaking roommate cut him off without an explanation. So what if things got a little weird on the last night of hockey camp the summer they were eighteen? It was just a little drunken foolishness. Nobody died.

Ryan Wesley’s biggest regret is coaxing his very straight friend into a bet that pushed the boundaries of their relationship. Now, with their college teams set to face off at the national championship, he’ll finally get a chance to apologize.

But all it takes is one look at his longtime crush, and the ache is stronger than ever. Jamie has waited a long time for answers, but walks away with only more questions— can one night of sex ruin a friendship? If not, how about six more weeks of it?

When Wesley turns up to coach alongside Jamie for one more hot summer at camp, Jamie has a few things to discover about his old friend…and a big one to learn about himself.

Age Group: Adult

Read If You Want: If you want a swoony love story,then Wes and Jamie story is one you can’t miss. They are hockey camp BFFs who hook up one night and they stopped speaking after a few years. They reconnect again at their hockey camp now as a coaches and they explored their relationship.

Read our interview with Elle Kennedy as she shares what she reads and recommends.


Natalie Callahan is out of luck. The family screw-up.

All thanks to the Kiss Keeper’s curse.

Yep, she’s cursed!

Honestly, it should come as no surprise that she’s been sacked from her job and dumped by her boyfriend on the way to a week-long family celebration.

But she’s done—so done with being poor Nat, the family train wreck!

There’s a solution! It’s crazy, but it could work!

She’ll do anything to prove she’s more than just a hot mess — so when her path crosses with a dark and handsome businessman, she enlists him to play the role of adoring boyfriend.

Will a week of romantic charades lead to something more?
That all depends on the Kiss Keeper.

Age Group: Adult

Read If You Want: If you are looking for an opposites attracted with a cursed heroine.

Tune into our author interview with Krista Sandor as we chat book writing, book recommendations and everything in between.


When Abby signs up for a DNA service, it’s mainly to give her friend and secret love interest, Leo, a nudge. After all, she knows who she is already: Avid photographer. Injury-prone tree climber. Best friend to Leo and Connie…although ever since the B.E.I. (Big Embarrassing Incident) with Leo, things have been awkward on that front.

But she didn’t know she’s a younger sister.

When the DNA service reveals Abby has a secret sister, shimmery-haired Instagram star Savannah Tully, it’s hard to believe they’re from the same planet, never mind the same parents — especially considering Savannah, queen of green smoothies, is only a year and a half older than Abby herself.

The logical course of action? Meet up at summer camp (obviously) and figure out why Abby’s parents gave Savvy up for adoption. But there are complications: Savvy is a rigid rule-follower and total narc. Leo is the camp’s co-chef, putting Abby’s growing feelings for him on blast. And her parents have a secret that threatens to unravel everything.

But part of life is showing up, leaning in, and learning to fit all your awkward pieces together. Because sometimes, the hardest things can also be the best ones.

Age Group: YA

Read If You Want; A feel good summer camp story between two estranged (secret) sisters.


Growing up homeschooled in Berkeley, California, Beatrice Quinn has always dreamed of discovering new mathematical challenges at Oxford University. She always thought the hardest part would be getting in, not convincing her parents to let her go. But while math has always made sense to Beatrice, making friends is a problem she hasn’t been able to solve. Before her parents will send her halfway across the world, she has to prove she won’t spend the next four years hiding in the library. The compromise: the Connecticut Shakespearean Summer Academy and a detailed list of teenage milestones to check off. If Beatrice wants to live out her Oxford dream, she has to survive six weeks in the role of “normal teenager” first.

Unfortunately, hearts and hormones don’t follow any equations. When she’s adopted by a group of eclectic theater kids, and immediately makes an enemy of the popular—and annoyingly gorgeous—British son of the camp’s founders, Beatrice quickly learns that relationships are trickier than calculus. With her future on the line, this girl genius stumbles through illicit parties, double dog dares, and more than her fair share of Shakespeare. But before the final curtain falls, will Beatrice realize there’s more to life than what she can find in the pages of a book?

Age Group: YA

Read If You Want:  A homeschooled math genius finds herself spending the summer at a THEATER CAMP!


Sixteen-year-old Paisley Manning has been attending Camp Starling since she was a little girl, when her parents ran it together. For the last few years, since her father’s death, she’s been the one helping her mom run the camp behind the scenes. This year, however, will be Camp Starling’s last hurrah because Paisley’s mom has met a guy online and they’re getting married.

 

Enter Hayden Bennett, who is working alongside Paisley. Paisley and Hayden are like oil and water. She follows the rules, and he seems to live to break them all. But when Hayden catches wind of Paisley’s predicament, he has an idea. If a matchmaker in some computer algorithm caused the issue, a couple of real-life matchbreakers can fix it.

 

As they work to break up the happy couple, Paisley discovers that maybe Hayden’s not so bad after all. Has she met her own perfect match in her fellow matchbreaker?

Age Group: YA

Read If You Want: A summer romcom about two teenagers who come together to break up a romance, and lo and behold, they find their own.




Camp
By Rosen, L. C.



Buy on Amazon

Sixteen-year-old Randy Kapplehoff loves spending the summer at Camp Outland, a camp for queer teens. It’s where he met his best friends. It’s where he takes to the stage in the big musical. And it’s where he fell for Hudson Aaronson-Lim—who is only into straight-acting guys and barely knows not-at-all-straight-acting Randy even exists.   This year, however, it’s going to be different. Randy has reinvented himself as ‘Del’—buff, masculine, and on the market. Even if it means giving up show tunes, nail polish, and his unicorn bedsheets, he’s determined to get Hudson to fall for him.   But as he and Hudson grow closer, Randy has to ask himself: How much is he willing to change for love? And is it really love anyway, if Hudson doesn’t know who he truly is?

Age Group: YA

Read If You Want: Queer Summer Camp


Sunny Song’s Big Summer Goals:

1) Make Rafael Kim my boyfriend (finally!)

2) Hit 100K followers (almost there…)

3) Have the best last summer of high school ever

Not on Sunny’s list: accidentally filming a PG-13 cooking video that goes viral (#browniegate). Extremely not on her list: being shipped off to a digital detox farm camp in Iowa (IOWA??) for a whole month. She’s traded in her WiFi connection for a butter churn, and if she wants any shot at growing her social media platform this summer, she’ll need to find a way back online.

But between some unexpected friendships and an alarmingly cute farm boy, Sunny might be surprised by the connections she makes when she’s forced to disconnect.

Age Group: YA

Read If You Want: If your biggest nightmare is to go through a digital detox as a teenager, then this book may not be for you. Sunny Song is an up and coming influencer who gets shipped off to a digital detox camp to learn to appreciate the simple things in life.

Listen into our interview with Suzanne Park as she shares her journey to get publish, how she juggled writing both for YA and Adult audiences and her book recommendations.


Similar Posts