Books Like The Housemaid by Freida McFadden

Books Like The Housemaid by Freida McFadden

Disclosure: We are part of the Amazon Affiliate/LTK Creator programs. We will receive a small commission at no cost if you purchase a book. This post may contain links to purchase books & you can read our affiliate disclosure here.

The Housemaid is a psychological thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat until the end.  The story begins with our protagonist Millie, fresh out of prison, answering a live-in maid advertisement. The job may seem too good to be true as she moves into the Winchesters’ house. The story is told in two parts, and it is a page-turning thriller that will keep you guessing.

In 2023, The Housemaid became a NY Times and Sunday Times Bestseller.  The book has dominated the Amazon Top 100. Freida has continued to write in The Housemaid world as this book is now part of a trilogy of novels.

In this blog post, I am sharing 5 fast-paced thrillers mostly available on Kindle Unlimited that you can pick up after reading The Housemaid.

The Housemaid by Freida McFadden

The Housemaid by Freida McFadden

This book is available on Kindle Unlimited

“Welcome to the family,” Nina Winchester says as I shake her elegant, manicured hand. I smile politely, gazing around the marble hallway. Working here is my last chance to start fresh. I can pretend to be whoever I like. But I’ll soon learn that the Winchesters’ secrets are far more dangerous than my own…

Every day I clean the Winchesters’ beautiful house top to bottom. I collect their daughter from school. And I cook a delicious meal for the whole family before heading up to eat alone in my tiny room on the top floor.

I try to ignore how Nina makes a mess just to watch me clean it up. How she tells strange lies about her own daughter. And how her husband Andrew seems more broken every day. But as I look into Andrew’s handsome brown eyes, so full of pain, it’s hard not to imagine what it would be like to live Nina’s life. The walk-in closet, the fancy car, the perfect husband.

I only try on one of Nina’s pristine white dresses once. Just to see what it’s like. But she soon finds out… and by the time I realize my attic bedroom door only locks from the outside, it’s far too late.

But I reassure myself: the Winchesters don’t know who I really am.

They don’t know what I’m capable of…


FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS FOR THE HOUSEMAID

What is The Housemaid Series Order?

The Housemaid series order is as follows:

Do you have a Ranked List of the best Freida McFadden’s books?

Yes, I share my top 5 Freida McFadden’s books in this blog post. In addition, you will find Freida McFadden’s Publication Order if you want to dive into her backlist of titles. 

I love Freida McFadden’s books, do you have other book suggestions?/

Yes, in this post I am sharing ten Psychological Thriller Authors whose books are on Kindle Unlimited.

Is The Housemaid by Freida McFadden available on Kindle Unlimited?

Yes, as of February 2024, all Freida McFadden’s books are available on Kindle Unlimited.

Where can I find The Housemaid by Freida McFadden’s audiobooks?

The audiobooks are not  Audible Exclusive, so you can buy them from your favorite audiobook provider. 

The audiobook is available via Whispersync for $7.49 if you borrow the Kindle Unlimited book.

In addition, you can borrow it instantly if you have access to Hoopla Digital.

Books Like The Housemaid by  Freida McFadden

The Playgroup by Jami Worthington

The Playgroup by Jami Worthington

This book is available on Kindle Unlimited

In California’s Silicon Valley, even a children’s playgroup can be a place for power-brokering, innovation, and cut-throat competition.

In Oak Valley, a wealthy suburb of Silicon Valley, Alex Drake runs “the” playgroup in town. Even in a place where its seems like everyone has a multi-million dollar bank account or has a company that is about to go public, Alex appears to have it all: a delightful daughter, a handsome, adoring husband, model-like beauty, and the kind of obscene wealth that keeps her in the latest fashion, driving the newest car (electric, obviously!), and hosting playgroups where the wine flows and so does the gossip.

When Alex invites new to the neighborhood Cleo Baird to join her tight-knit playgroup, Cleo can’t believe her luck and knows she has just the “in” she’s been hoping for.

But it isn’t just luck. As the women grow closer and Alex shares more secrets, she doesn’t realize Cleo is keeping secrets of her own. It’s no coincidence that Cleo and her daughter moved to Oak Valley. Cleo came to town with a specific goal in mind: to destroy Alex’s enviable and seemingly perfect life.

Fans of Tarryn Fisher, Jessica Knoll, and Frieda McFadden will love this book about friendships, betrayal, and how nothing, and no one, are ever exactly as they seem.

Buy on Amazon

The Arrangement by Kiersten Modglin

The Arrangement by Kiersten Modglin

Free Audiobook Tip: Audio may be available on Hoopla Digital

The arrangement was just meant to fix their marriage.
No one was supposed to get hurt.
But when the rules of this open marriage are broken, the consequences are sinister.

Ainsley Greenburg is a fixer.
It’s what she prides herself on.

So, when she realizes her marriage is at its breaking point, she makes a decision to repair it, no matter the cost. Approaching her husband to propose the arrangement is supposed to be the hard part, but Peter agrees to the salacious plan almost immediately.

The rules are simple:

  • They will each date someone new once a week.
  • They will never discuss what happens on the dates.


Soon, though, the rules are broken, turning terrible mistakes into unspeakable consequences.
When the only person they can count on to keep their darkest secret is each other, new questions and deceits surface. Can they truly trust the person they share a life with, or will the vicious lies that have mounted over the years destroy everything they’ve built?

Once, Peter and Ainsley vowed to stand together forever, but as they push boundaries of deception, suspicion, and temptation, each begins to wonder if ’til death do us part may come sooner than they’d intended


The Surgeon by Leslie Wolfe

The Surgeon by Leslie Wolfe

This book is available on Kindle Unlimited

Trusted surgeon. Loving wife. Murderer?

Before my world came crashing down, I had it all. The successful career I dreamed of. The beautiful red-brick home where I could relax in front of the fire. The handsome, devoted husband whose blue eyes and charming smile always made me feel safe.

As I call time of death, my voice is steady. My colleagues stand hushed around me, their eyes on me, confused, concerned.

I have never lost a patient until today.

My hands tremble inside their gloves. I slide down the cold tiled walls, my heart racing in my chest.

I have never hated a patient until today.

But what choice did I have, once I recognized him?

And what will I do to protect myself, if someone learns the truth?


Try Kindle Unlimited

Unlimited Reading, Unlimited Listening, Any Device

Unlimited, guilt-free reading, all for one low monthly price. Try out new authors, read some of your favorites, and never exceed your book-buying budget!

As an Amazon affiliate, I will get a small commission if you sign up for the service.

The Lies We Tell by Sylvia Seffman

The Lies We Tell by Syliva Selfman

This book is available on Kindle Unlimited

Jessica Parks, a soon-to-be-divorced mother of one, has a wildly romantic fling with a handsome stranger on a business trip. But things aren’t exactly what they seem and she soon finds herself embroiled in a dangerous web of lies and deceit.

Buy on Amazon

The Wife’s Secret by Debra Lynch

The Wife's Secret bu Debra Lynch

This book is available on Kindle Unlimited

Liz Hunter has done something evil.

To avoid prison, Liz flees Oklahoma and lands in an isolated desert town praying her past won’t catch up with her.

But when Liz and her new husband Gavin win the $698 million lottery jackpot, her dreams are catapulted into nightmares.

Being hounded by a shady reporter intent on unearthing her gruesome past is bad enough, but it’s her husband she’s really worried about.

All that money has gone to Gavin’s head. The man she married, who used to be a kind, loving husband, has turned into a cheating, manipulative monster.

But Liz will do whatever it takes to save herself.

Even if it means murder.


Similar Posts