11 Swoony Romance Books Like ‘Hopeless’ by Elsie Silver

Disclosure: We are part of the Amazon Affiliate/LTK Creator programs. We will receive a small commission at no cost if you purchase a book. This post may contain links to purchase books & you can read our affiliate disclosure here.

Are you still swooning over the heartwarming love story between a veteran with PTSD and a spirited bartender from a small town in ‘Hopeless’ by Elsie Silver? We know the feeling! There’s something about the magic of small-town romances that captures our hearts, and when you add the irresistible allure of fake dating, you’ve got a recipe for an unforgettable story. But what do you do when you’ve devoured every page of ‘Hopeless’ and are left longing for more of that sweet, small-town charm?

Don’t worry; we’ve got you covered! In this blog post, we’ve rounded up 11 delightful books to fill the ‘Hopeless’-shaped hole in your heart. These novels offer their own unique take on small-town romance, and many of them are available on Kindle Unlimited, so you can dive right into these heartwarming tales without breaking the bank.

Whether you’re a hopeless romantic looking for your next bookish escape or simply craving the comforting embrace of a small town, these stories are bound to sweep you off your feet. So, grab a cozy blanket, your favorite beverage, and get ready to fall in love with these captivating tales of fake dating turning into real love. Let’s embark on this literary journey together as we explore the magic of small-town romances!

About Hopeless by Elsie Silver

Hopeless by Elsie Silver

This book is available on Kindle Unlimited

Beau Eaton is the town prince, a handsome military hero with a tortured past.

I’m the outcast bartender, a shy girl from the wrong side of the tracks.

He’s thirty-five and all man, and I’m twenty-two and all . . . virgin.

He’s also my fiancé. Correction: my fake fiancé.

We start out as a bet. He doesn’t believe that anyone holds my last name against me. So he offers me his to prove a point.

It’s win-win. He gets a break from his concerned family’s prying, and I get a chance to shed my family’s reputation while I save up to ditch this small town.

He says all I have to do is wear his ring, follow his lead, and pretend I can’t keep my hands off of him in public.

But it’s what happens between us in private that blurs all those carefully drawn lines.

It’s what transpires behind closed doors that doesn’t feel like pretending at all.

This engagement was supposed to be for show. This agreement? It has an end date.

He once told me he’d never fall in love.

And yet here I am, head over heels for my fake fiancé.

Read If You Want: Hopeless is a sweet and emotional book about Beau and Bailey, who fake a romance for their own reasons. Beau is a war hero who comes back to his hometown broken and haunted. He finds comfort in the bar where Bailey works as a bartender. Bailey is a smart and kind woman who belongs to the town’s most notorious family. She wants to escape her past and start a new life. Beau and Bailey become friends and agree to pretend to be a couple. Beau wants to get his family off his case and Bailey wants to get a better job and a better reputation. They go from friends to lovers in this slow burn, low angst romance. Will they realize they are meant for each other or let their fears keep them apart? Hopeless is a book full of heart and hope.


Frequently Asked Questions 

How spicy is Hopeless?

Hopeless is a slow-burn small-town romance that features multiple sex scenes. It is a medium spice level;

Can I read Hopeless on Kindle Unlimited?

Hopeless is only available on Kindle Unlimited in the US, Canada, and the UK. 

Does Hopeless have an audiobook?

Yes, the Hopeless audiobook is available exclusively through Audible. 

If you are interested in trying Audible and getting free credit, sign up for this Audible free trial. 

Where can I access Elsie Silver’s Bonus Material?

Elsie Silver’s bonus material is available exclusively on her website,


11 BOOKS LIKE HOPELESS BY ELSIE SILVER

One Chance by Lena Hendrix

One Chance by Lena Hendrix

This book is available on Kindle Unlimited

Fake dating my best friend? Total disaster.

With his cocky grin and devilish charm, firefighter Lee Sullivan makes every woman in our small town swoon. Every woman except for me.

Which is why I’m shocked when he steps in at the town’s Matchmaker’s Gala and outbids my crush during the charity auction, committing us to six prearranged dates.

Six dates where we, very publicly, pretend to be falling in love.

Despite my objections and our efforts to set each other up with other people, Lee is convinced pretending to date each other is the perfect opportunity to get the women in town off his back (and out of his bed), while also helping to nudge my non-committal crush in the jealousy department.

Stupidly, I agree.

After the disastrous blind dates he set me up on, what’s a few months of letting Lee worship the ground I walk on? He owes me.

Trouble is––every fake kiss, every lingering touch, every filthy word he whispers when no one is around––is starting to feel very, very real.

We know everything about each other––from my orphaned past to his irrational hatred of dolls. The only secret I have ever kept from Lee spans all the way back to his time in the Army and it’s the one thing that could ruin our friendship forever.Because where Lee is concerned, I have learned to guard my heart. Suddenly, he’s asking for the opportunity to feel something real. He’s asking for the one thing he wouldn’t want if he ever knew the truth: one chance.

Read if You Want:  Do you love stories where fake dating turns into real love? Then you will enjoy One Chance by Lena Hendrix. This is a sweet and fun romance about Lee and Annie, who are best friends in a small town. Lee asks Annie to be his fake girlfriend to stop other women from chasing him. But he has a secret: he has always loved Annie and hopes she will feel the same. They agree to go on six fake dates and act like they are falling in love. But what if they are not acting at all?

One Chance is the third book in the Sullivan Family series, but you can read it as a standalone.


Sweet Spot by Jessica Prince

Sweet Spot by Jessica Prince

This book is available on Kindle Unlimited

Who knew four little words and a very public kiss would change so much.

Gage Langdon didn’t do relationships. After having his heart shattered years ago, he made a vow to never go down that road again. But when his past waltzes into his town, demanding his attention, he reacts without thinking and makes a very public display of kissing his best friend. Now Wynn is pretending to be his girlfriend to help him get back at his ex, and the feelings he’d sworn he turned off were starting to spark to life.

After walking in on her boyfriend in bed with another woman, Wynn Klein made herself a promise. Never again. She was done with men. When she walked into that coffee shop one morning to meet her best friend, she never expected Gage would wrap her in his arms and plant a knee-quaking kiss on her in front of the whole town. The request he whispered in her ear after sealed their fate: Just go with it.

When Wynn agreed to be Gage’s fake girlfriend, it was only supposed to be temporary. But thanks to meddlesome friends, an over-eager mother-in-law to be, and a conniving granny, things go so much further than they were intended.

The lines between reality and fiction are starting to blur, and Gage starts to see Wynn in a whole new light.

Now he just has to get her to that sweet spot where friends become lovers without freaking her out and sending her running for the hills.

Read If You Want:  If you like stories where friends pretend to be lovers and end up falling for real, you will love The Sweet Spot by Jessica Prince. This is a charming and funny romance about two friends who have given up on finding love. They decide to fake a relationship to get their families off their backs. But their plan backfires when they start to develop real feelings for each other. Will they admit their love or lose their chance at happiness? The Sweet Spot is a standalone book that will make you laugh and swoon.


That Kind of Guy by Stephanie Archer

That Kind of Guy by Stephanie Archer

This book is available on Kindle Unlimited

My arrogant fake fiancé? I can’t stand him.Cocky and charismatic Emmett Rhodes isn’t the relationship kind of guy, but now that he’s running for mayor of our small town, his bachelor past is hurting the campaign.

Thankfully, I’m the last woman who would ever fall for him.

We’re total opposites—he’s a golden retriever and I’m sharp and snarky, but he’ll cosign on my restaurant loan if I play his devoted fiancée. Between romantic dates, a prom night re-do, and visits to a secret beach, things heat up, and the line between real and ruse is lit on fire. I see another side of Mr. Popular, and now I wonder if I was all wrong.

We can’t keep our hands off each other, but it’s all for show… right?

A sizzling, hilarious, enemies-to-lovers fake dating rom-com with an HEA. This is the first book in the Queen’s Cove series.

Read If You Want: Are you a fan of stories where enemies become lovers? Then you will like That Kind of Guy by Stephanie Archer. This is a witty and romantic book about Avery and Emmett, who can’t stand each other. Emmett is a charismatic guy who wants to be the mayor of his town, but he needs to improve his image. He asks Avery, a restaurant manager, to be his fake girlfriend. She agrees, but only if he helps her buy the restaurant of her dreams. They pretend to be in love, but soon, they realize they are not pretending anymore. Will they confess their feelings or let their pride get in the way?  That Kind of Guy is the first book in the Queen’s Cove series that will make you smile and sigh.


This book is available on Kindle Unlimited

Stefan Dalca is infuriatingly handsome. And annoyingly persistent. We’re supposed to hate each other. But apparently he didn’t get the memo, because he’s been asking me out for years.

And I always say no. Until today.

Today he has something that I desperately need. Today he’s a savior, and I’m his prize.

Our time together starts out as a simple transaction. Three dates. No touching. No telling anyone. And definitely no falling in love.

But with every intimate conversation, and each stolen glance, the tension between us builds.

The way he looks at me gives me butterflies. And when he finally touches me? We sizzle.

Stefan makes me feel seen in a way no other person has before. He cherishes my words as passionately as my body.

He makes me laugh. He makes me blush. He calls me kitten.

He’s not the villain he’s been made out to be.

And suddenly I find myself longing for him in a way the people closest to me wouldn’t approve of or understand.

Giving in to Stefan Dalca is playing with fire.

Read If You Want: Do you enjoy stories where she hates him and sparks fly? Then you will like The Front Runner by Elsie Silver. This is a steamy and captivating book about Stefan and Mira, who have a love-hate relationship. Stefan is a persistent guy who has a crush on Mira and keeps asking her out. She can’t stand him, but he finally convinces her to give him a chance. They agree to go on three dates but nothing more. However, they discover they have fantastic chemistry and can’t get enough of each other. Will they admit they are perfect for each other, or let their differences keep them apart?  The Front Runner is part of the Gold Rush series, but you can read it independently. This book has the slow-burn romance that Elsie Silver is known for.


When I Fall by J. Daniels

When I Fall by J. Daniels

This book is available on Kindle Unlimited

For the past nine years, I’ve kept my heart as far away from my junk as possible.

Those two can’t be anywhere near each other. They don’t play nice, and one of them undoubtedly winds up getting hurt.

Not my junk. My junk is good.

The women I take home know exactly what they’re getting from me—a good time. Nothing more. At least, that’s what’s supposed to happen. The sweet brunette from Kentucky I set my sights on tonight shouldn’t have been any different.

I had her right where I wanted her. Where I needed her.

But when my past comes walking into McGill’s pub, the woman in my arms decides to take things to a whole new level, putting me into a situation I never saw coming

Read If You Want: Do you like stories where a bad boy falls for a good girl? Then you will enjoy When I Fall by J. Daniels. This is a hot and emotional book about Reed and Beth, who have both been hurt by life. Reed is a sexy guy who doesn’t do relationships. He only wants casual hookups and fun. But Beth is different. She is a sweet and strong woman who has overcome a tough childhood and a tragic loss. Reed and Beth start as friends, but soon they feel a deeper connection. They go from friends to lovers in this slow burn romance. Will they open their hearts and find love or let their fears keep them apart? When I Fall is book 3 in the Alabama Summer series, but you can read it on its own. This book has the bad boy romance that J. Daniels is famous for.


This book is available on Kindle Unlimited

Cameron

I’m the charming and easy-going Finch son, until I see Annie in a bar, crying.

My long-time friend who I’ve wanted to kiss, but she’s too good for me.

We strike a deal–make her ex jealous by being her fake date; in exchange, she helps me plan an epic nineties-themed party at my family’s brewery.

I didn’t expect that “fake” kiss to destroy me like it did. That it would shift my world and make it crash.

Annie

I’ve had a crush on Cameron Finch since high school, but he’s never looked at me that way.

Now, my ex broke my heart and Cameron is helping me get payback.

I can’t tell if this date is real or fake, because I feel explosive sparks when his lips touch mine.

I can’t let old feelings overtake me. He’s never stuck to one woman for long, and I’m bound to get my heart broken again.

Read If You Want: Do you love stories where best friends fake a relationship and end up falling in love? Then you will like Fool’s Gold by Jenny Buntig. This is a sweet and funny book about Cameron and Annie, who have been friends for a long time. Cameron is a laid-back guy who works at a brewery. He sees Annie crying over her ex and offers to be her fake boyfriend to make him jealous. Annie agrees, but only if he helps her plan a 90s party for the brewery. But there is a catch: Annie has always had a crush on Cameron and now she can’t hide her feelings. They go from friends to lovers in this cute and fun romance. Will they realize they are perfect for each other or let their fears ruin their chance at love? Fool’s Gold is a standalone book that will make you laugh and swoon.


This book is available on Kindle Unlimited

What could possibly go wrong fake dating the gorgeous single dad in a small town?

The answer, you fall for him.

It started out perfect. Grady Whitlock needed a plus one for his business meetings, and I needed a date for a wedding.

We had a plan. It was a good one.

Until it wasn’t.

I was not supposed to have feelings for him. I was not going to let my heart race when his soulful blue eyes stared into mine. No way should I have noticed his smile or the dimple on his right cheek or his strong arms when he held me close. I especially wasn’t going to melt when I saw him play with my daughter.

Most of all I was not going to sleep with him.

Nope. None of that was supposed to happen, but it does.

Now I find myself dreaming of him every night. Wishing we were really a couple because the way he kisses me doesn’t feel as if it’s pretend.

But we’ve both watched our dreams shatter, and I can’t handle another broken heart.

Read If You Want: Do you like stories where a fake date turns into a real romance? Then you will enjoy Broken Dreams by Corinne Michaels. This is a steamy and emotional book about Addison and Grady, who agree to be each other’s plus one. Addison needs a date for a wedding and Grady needs a date for work events. They pretend to be a couple, but soon they feel a strong attraction. Grady is a single dad and Addison falls for him and his son. Addison wants him, but will he give her his heart or break hers? Broken Dreams is a book full of angst and passion.


This book is available on Kindle Unlimited

I agree to fake date my little sister’s best friend, never expecting I’d fall in love.

My professional hockey career is over thanks to a busted leg from one too many hits into the boards. Coming home to Dogwood Cove to figure out my next steps is the best option I’ve got, even if I’m in a dark place where not even my nosy family can lift my grumpy mood.

But Lily isn’t deterred, and her sunshine alone pierces the darkness. She’s the physical therapist tasked with helping me recover, and she’s helping heal more than just my broken body. So when she needs my help, I don’t hesitate to step up.

Falling for her starts out innocent enough. Lily needs a date to a family wedding, one that promises to be more torture than celebration.

Now, thanks to an overbooked hotel with only one bed, two gossiping bridesmaids, and a three minute slow dance… the entire town, including our families, thinks we’re dating.

To save face we decide to keep the ruse going.

There’s just one problem: What I’m feeling for Lily is anything but pretend.

She thinks my future is still in hockey, but I know differently. My future is with her.

Pretend To Love You You is perfect for fans of steamy small town romance centered around a big family who love to get in each other’s business. If you love grumpy heroes who only smile for their woman, swoon-worthy moments and plenty of spice, then this is the book for you. It is a standalone, and the third full length novel in the Donnellys of Dogwood Cove series.

Read If You Want: Do you enjoy stories where a fake relationship becomes real love? Then you will like Pretend to Love You by Julia Jarrett. This is a hot and sweet book about Jude and Lily, who are faking a romance. Jude is a retired hockey player who moves to a small town. He meets Lily, his physical therapist, who helps him heal his body. Lily needs a date for a wedding and Jude offers to go with her. But things get complicated when they have to share a bed, deal with a nosy bridesmaid, and face the town gossip. They keep pretending to be a couple, but Jude starts to have real feelings for Lily. Will he tell her how he feels or let her go? Pretend to Love You is a book for fans of steamy small town romance with a big and meddling family. If you like grumpy heroes who melt for their woman, cute and spicy moments, and a happy ending, then this is the book for you. It is a standalone book and the third one in the Donnellys of Dogwood Cove series.


Noah Malone is back in his hometown for a short break from his stunt work, but his mother’s set on convincing him to settle down in Green Valley so he can give her grandbabies like the good Lord intended. Not only is she pushing him to help out at the Donner Bakery decorating cookies, but her matchmaking is relentless.

To end his mother’s awkward set-ups, Noah needs a no-strings-attached pretend girlfriend. And who better than Carla, a mysterious recluse who seems to have taken an instant dislike to him? When she reveals she’s been isolated by illness, he proposes a fake relationship that’ll stop his momma’s shenanigans and help Carla ease back into the world.

Tech-geek Carla creates a spreadsheet of fake-date challenges. She’s serious and focused on her goal of slowly becoming more social… until daredevil Noah starts messing with her spreadsheet. He’s ridiculously charming, and his sexy additions may be even more appealing than the cookies he brings her, but Carla won’t let her resistance crumble.

Opposites may attract, but can such different people find a recipe for love?

‘Tough Cookie’ is a full-length contemporary romance, can be read as a standalone, and is book #3 in the Donner Bakery series, Green Valley Chronicles, Penny Reid Book Universe.

Read If You Want: Tough Cookie is a funny and romantic book about Noah and Carla, who fake a relationship to avoid their problems. Noah is a stuntman who comes back to his hometown and faces his mother’s pressure to settle down. He meets Carla, a tech-geek who has been isolated by illness. He convinces her to be his pretend girlfriend to stop his mother’s matchmaking and help her become more social. They agree to follow a spreadsheet of fake-date challenges, but they soon realize they have real feelings for each other. Will they admit their love or let their differences keep them apart?

Tough Cookie is a book for fans of romantic comedy with a touch of drama. If you like quirky characters, delicious cookies, and a happy ending, then this is the book for you. I


Contessa Costa crashed into my small town and took the job at my family’s company. One that’s supposed to be mine.

She’s not the kind of woman who needs rescuing, but when I witnessed the way our biggest competitor, and her ex-husband, talked to her and then touched her, I didn’t have another choice.

Now I’m stuck trying to keep up appearances of this “relationship” for a marketing campaign that might be a career-ending gamble. And to prove to my father that I’m the committed and capable choice for CEO. But our lies are starting to feel better than our truth.

Now I’m trying to decide if what I want is worth fighting for or if I’d rather just be fighting with her. How do you outsmart your enemy when you’ve stupidly fallen in love with her?

Buy on Amazon

Read If You Want:  Peak Performance is a fun and sexy book about Law and Tessa, who fake a romance for a risky marketing campaign. Law is the funny and charming brother of the Riggs family. He makes everyone laugh, except his new boss, his neighbor, and the woman he announced his love for, Tessa Costa. Tessa is a smart and independent woman who doesn’t want Law’s help, but he steps in any way. They agree to pretend to be a couple for a campaign that could make or break their careers. Law wants to show Tessa he can be serious and committed, but he also starts to fall for her. Will they confess their feelings or let their pride get in the way? Peak Performance is a book full of humor and heat.


Related Posts

Similar Posts